2009 & 2010 Gold Star Awards Luncheon

April 13, 2011 Columbus, Oh

Hosted by the Ohio Chapters of APCO and NENA



The Ohio Chapters of APCO and NENA thank everyone who attended the Luncheon as well as the State Conference this year.  It is with great pleasure that the chapters welcome the recipients of the Gold Star Awards and their guests.  We are extremely proud of each nominee and the work they do every single day.  Making a selection of this type is very difficult since all the telecommmuniators in the State do an outstanding job.  Every telecommunicator has handled calls during the year that would award winning.  Additionally, their dedication and the service they provide to the public on a daily basis makes everyone in the State of Ohio a winner.

We extend a special thanks to the 2009-2010 Gold Star Awards Committee who have worked hard to prepare for this event.  They have devoted much time and energy to make this special recognition a success.  We thank the Supervisors and Administrators for all the superb nominations that they offered.

We also want to acknowledge the corporate sponsors for their generous financial support for the Ohio NENA and APCO.

To all the nominees, on behalf of NENA and APCO, we offer our sincere congratulations, appreciation, and thanks for a job well done.

Matt Franke, President Ohio chapter APCO and Rose Chambers, President Ohio chapter NENA


Ohio Chapter of NENA Board

President - Rose Chambers, Wood County Sheriff's Office

Vice President - Anne Barr, RPL - Union County Sheriff's Office

Secretary - Brian Fleugeman, Emergitech Inc.

Treasurer - Valerie DeRose, Summit County Emergency Management


Ohio Chapter of APCO Board

President - Matthew D. Franke - Butler County Sheriff's Department

1st Vice President - Michael P. Banks, RPL - Wadsworth Police Department

2nd Vice President - Frank Bowman, Columbus Airport Police

Secretary/Treasurer - Danielle J. Klavinger, ENP - Lucas County Emergency Services

Executive Council Representative - Holly Wayt, ENP - Westerville Communications


The Ohio Chapters of the Association of Public Safety Communications Officials, International (APCO) and the National Emergency Number Association (NENA) have worked together to recognize the outstanding work performed by public safety communications personnel in Ohio.  Both chapters see a critical need for positive recognition and acknowledgement of the fine work that is performed by the State's communications professionals.  Our goal is to publicly express appreciation, and to recognize both outstanding individual and team performance and consistent, steadfast leadership in public safety communications.  Both of the Chapters are proud to present The Ohio 9-1-1 Gold Star Awards program.  Because Telecommunicators work in the background, behind the lights, sirens and cameras, they are sometimes overlooked for their critical role in public safety.  APCO and NENA have worked in concert to promote and recognize outstanding performance in the dispatch centers around Ohio.

The Gold Star Committee


Gold Star Certificates


Dispatch Supervisor Deborah Yarnell, Wood County Sheriff's Office


Dispatcher Cortney Duncan, Grove City Police Department

Communications Supervisor Dave Geis, Hamilton County Communications Center

Dispatcher Roni Sayer, Huber Heights Police Division


2010 Gold Ribbon Award

Lake Township Dispatch Center, Milbury Ohio


2009 Double Gold Nominees

Mansfield City 9-1-1

Telecommunicator Robin Lentz

Telecommunicator Tamiko Webb

Telecommunicator Mark Huckleberry

Brown County Communications Center

Dispatcher Christy Grippa

Dispatcher Emily Madison


2010 Double Gold Nominees

 Ashland County Sheriff's Office

Communications Officer Laura Austen

Communications Officer Mike Beck

Communications Officer Heather Carr (Loudonville)

Communications Officer Jennifer Karcher (Loudonville)

Communications Officer Heather Metzger

Communications Officer Jennifer Pearce

Communications Officer Jim Strickland

Communications Officer Marla Wert

Delaware County Emergency Communications

Telecommunicator Kim Curren

Telecommunicator Theresa Fasuk

Gallia County 9-1-1

9-1-1 Operator Chris Gruber

9-1-1 Operator Lynn Mingus

9-1-1 Operator Chris Mohr

Morrow County Sheriff's Office

Dispatcher Jennifer Dailey

Dispatch Supervisor Lori Epling

Dispatch Training Officer Penni Fox

Dispatch Supervisor Doug Houtz

Dispatcher Angie Miesmeer

Dispatcher Shelly Vajen


Double Gold Awards

2009 Team Award Winners

Ashland County Sheriff's Office

Telecommunications Officer Susan Kelley

Telecommunications Officer Sherry Kitts

Telecommunications Officer Jennifer Pearce

Telecommunications Officer James Strickling

Telecommunications Officer Robin Timmons

For outstanding performance handling an evacuation caused by a multivehicle accident involving a tractor trailer containing hazardous material on September 26, 2009


2010 Team Award Winners

Cincinnati Emergency Communications Center

Fire Dispatcher Malcolm Allen Jr.

Fire Dispatcher Rita Boyd

Operator Dispatcher Sarah Burger

E 9-1-1 Operator Jim Conley

Fire Dispatcher Theresa Hains

Emergency Services Dispatch Supervisor Erin Owen

Operator Dispatcher Michelle Popplewell

Operator Dispatcher Angela Weiler

For excellent team management of a shots fired, officer down incident involving a motorcycle gang on September 18, 2010


Solid Gold Awards

2009 Nominees

Operator Dispatcher Mark Henriques, Cincinnati Police Department

Communications Technician Kathy Hurtt, Westerville Communications

Dispatcher 1st Class Emily Joseph, Gates Mills Police Department

Dispatcher Charles McGeever, Cleveland Police Department

Emergency Resource Call taker Jeanine Moore, Clermont County Division of Public Safety Services

Dispatcher Tiffany Salinas, Eastlake Police Department

Public Safety Dispatcher 1 Jessica Stimmell, Pickerington Police Department


2010 Nominees

Police/Fire Dispatcher Jacqueline Ans, Brooklyn Fire Department

Communications Operator 2 Marian Bankhead, Xenia/Greene Communications Center

Dispatcher Debra Brewer, Cleveland Division of Police

Dispatcher Dawn Conner, Parma Heights Police Department

Emergency Medical Dispatcher Elizabeth Dominquez, Lucas County EMS

Communications Tech 1 Margaret Hammil, City of Akron

9-1-1 Dispatcher Jannan Kennedy, Lorain County 9-1-1

Emergency Communications Officer Jesse Madden, Warren County Emergency Services

Dispatcher Patti Jo Porter, City of Upper Arlington

9-1-1 Operator Christopher Stout, Gallia County 9-1-1


Telecommunicator's of the Year




Police Communications Technician Benjamin Adams, Columbus Division of Police

For superior work and persistence locating a shooting victim and an infant, which very likely saved both of their lives, April 4, 2009




Dispatcher Michelle Nagy, Stongsville Police Department

For expertly negotiating with a suicidal caller for over 90 minutes on April 23, 2010




Gold Star Awards Supporting Sponsors

The Gold Star Committee is extremely grateful to these companies for their sponsorship of the Ohio Gold Star Awards Program.  Their generosity allows the recognition of our Ohio Heroes.  Thank you very much!

Platinum Sponsor


Gold Sponsors




We also wish to express our sincere thanks to all the vendors for their generosity supplying corporate promotional items for all the nominees.