13th Annual Gold Star Awards Luncheon Program



Gold Star Certificates

Gold Ribbon Award

Double Gold Awards Dispatch Teams

Solid Gold Awards

2011 Ohio Telecommunicator of the Year Award


Thank you to everyone in attendance today. We have come together to recognize the outstanding work of some of Ohio’s heroes at the 13th annual Gold Star Awards Program. We have the honor and great pleasure on behalf of the Ohio Chapters of APCO and NENA to welcome the recipients of the Gold Star Awards and their guests. We are extremely proud of each nominee and wish to acknowledge the work they do every single day as well as the incident for which they were nominated. Making a selection is very difficult; each telecommunicator nominated did an outstanding job. Every telecommunicator has handled calls during the year that would be award winning. Additionally, their dedication and the service they provide to the public on a daily basis makes everyone in the State of Ohio a winner.

We extend a special thanks to the 2011 Gold Star Awards Committee which has worked hard to prepare for today's event. Much time and energy went into making this special recognition a success. We thank those who took the time to share with us their successes; supervisors, administrators, and coworkers, and for the superb nominations that they submitted.

We also want to acknowledge the corporate sponsors for their generous, continued support of the Gold Star Program, as well as for their continuing support for Ohio NENA and APCO.

To all the nominees, on behalf of NENA and APCO, our sincere congratulations, appreciation, and thanks for jobs well done.


Mike Banks President, Ohio Chapter APCO

Anne Barr President, Ohio Chapter NENA



2011 Gold Star Certificates

Public Safety Dispatcher Matt Robbins, OSU Department of Public Safety

Communications Officer Matt Hanenkrath, Defiance County Communications

Communications Officer Kyle Zayac, City of Brooklyn Police Dispatch

Public Safety Dispatcher Kathleen Wolfangel, Pickerington Police Department


2011 Gold Ribbon Award

Muskingum County Sheriff’s Office;    Communications Officers Joleen Kinsel & William Rowe

OSHP Cambridge District Headquarters;    Dispatchers Amy Tiongco & David Spratt


2011 Double Gold Awards



Copley-Norton Joint Dispatch Center

Dispatcher Michael Emerson, Copley Police Department

Dispatcher Sara Justice, Norton Police Department


 For their outstanding performance managing an active shooting incident involving an at-large male subject and multiple victims on August 7, 2011




City of Akron Safety Communications Center

Safety Communications Technician Dion Browder

Safety Communications technician Meg Hammil


Franklin County Sheriff’s Office

Communications Technician Ashley Wells

Communications Technician Elizabeth Lybarger


Ohio State Highway Patrol Canton District Headquarters

Dispatcher Trevor Heavlin

Dispatcher Jennifer Wendell



Darke County Sheriff’s Office

Dispatcher Shayne Scantland

Dispatcher Chris Lennon

Dispatcher Beverly Withrow

Dispatcher Katie McCabe

Dispatcher Kim Knick


Muskingum County Sheriff's Office Communications Center

Communications Officer Joleen Kinsel

Communications Officer William Rowe


Ohio State Highway Patrol Cambridge District Office

Dispatcher Amy Tiongco

Dispatcher David Spratt



2011 Solid Gold Award

                                                         OHIO TELECOMMUNICATOR OF THE YEAR 

Communications Officer Lacie Miller

Defiance County Communications

For your performance which resulted in the rescue of a woman who had become stranded when her vehicle was driven into high water. November 20, 2011



Communications Operator Kimberly Parker

Xenia Police Department


Radio Dispatcher Rebecca Rufo

Ohio State Highway Patrol Berea District Headquarters


Dispatcher Elizabeth Hyer

Ohio State Highway Patrol Medina District Headquarters


Radio Dispatcher Mary Lute

Ohio State Highway Patrol Findlay District Headquarters


 Communications Officer Cathy Binkley

Van Wert County Sheriff’s Office


Dispatcher Dawn Florjancic

Lakewood Police Department


Deputy/Dispatcher Craig Jackson

Ottawa County Sheriff’s Office


 Ohio Chapter of NENA Board


Anne Barr,RPL - Union County Sheriff’s Office

Vice President

Brandon Redmond, Darke County Sheriff's Office


Lin Malott, DDTI


Valerie DeRose, Summit County Emergency Management


Ohio Chapter of APCO, Executive Board


Michael Banks, RPL - Wadsworth Police Department

1st Vice President

Jay D. Somerville, ENP· Dublin Police Department

2nd Vice President

Frank Bowen, Port Columbus Police Department


Danielle J. Klavinger, ENP Lucas County Emergency Services

Executive Council Representative

Lynne Feller, Wayne County Justice Center


The Gold Star Awards committee would like to thank the following people for their support and participation in the program


State Fire Marshal, Larry Flowers

Mr. Jay Somerville

Chaplain James Meacham

Chaplain David Murdoch

The Westerville Division of Fire Honor Guard

The Gold Star Selection/Awards Committee

Ms. Anne Barr, RPL

Ms. Rose Chambers

Mr. Frank Bowen

Mr. Mike Banks, RPL